100 Words Forums
August 11, 2020, 11:26:03 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 6/1 - Kicking off these new forums. An empty void waiting for someone brave enough to help populate it. Could that be you?

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: A few ideas  (Read 6296 times)
Another Roy

View Profile Email
« on: June 01, 2010, 10:47:43 PM »

First of all, thanks for all the good work on the site over the years. I've been participating on and off for almost nine years now and would love to see 100words continue and improve.

Here are some of my ideas, in no particular order:

-- Allow people to include a photo with their entry to add some visual interest to the site. I've created a handful of these over the years and sent them to my friends and even turned them into greeting cards. But I couldn't post them to 100words.

-- Provide URLs to individual stories instead of whole batches. This would let us to show specific stories to people, where we might not be able to convince them to scan through a whole batch.

-- Allow us, officially, to link to other stories and websites. I've done this once or twice but felt bad that I was breaking the rules.

-- Set up some sort of mechanism for group writing. I'm in my third month of doing this with a couple of friends where every day we write a piece inspired by the person who wrote before us. (See http://drinkthenewwine.blogspot.com/.) And boy does it make the writing come easier. People could come up with their own rules, and all you'd need to do is allow people to link to other entries.

-- Implement some sort of voting system to bring good entries to the attention of the person that chooses the featured entries.